The Pressure Is Off


Funny thing….now that I don’t feel like I have to post, I’m looking forward to it again. I’m not so stressed about it. I don’t worry all day about what I’m going to take a picture of. I’m letting it come to me again. I feel like picking up my camera and traipsing about for my own enjoyment. Weird, because I’m that person who does some of my best work under pressure. Or at least I like to think I do. So I went out today and took pictures of nothing…and LOVED it!!! Dont get me wrong, I always love taking pictures, but I felt freedom again. Free to take crappy pictures, free to take no pictures, free to take pictures of stuff only I would probably like. I’m not trying to take pictures for anyone else, just me.

Here’s a fun picture. One day about a month ago, Roman and I were coloring the driveway with chalk. I wasnt paying attention at some point obviously, and when it was time to go inside what did my eyes see???? This amazing contemporary art piece by Roman Dean himself!!! Not sure how to get chalk off of stucco without destroying it, so it stayed. I’m really not to concerned with it to tell you the truth, and when its a bit warmer outside I’ll try to wash it off.

This is a picture of the Nectarine tree we planted in the back yard of my parents house shortly after we lost Gigi. It was dedicated in remembrance of her by our family.  Last year it had an amazing yield of Nectarines, but I think this year is going to be a little slower. It seems that every other year is an off-year for fruit trees here.  We call the fruit Gigi fruit, and the flowers before the fruit are so pretty! My dad trimmed her up this year and replanted all the little branches and they are taking off. We plan on planting a bunch of them in our yard this spring :).

My moms best friend is visiting from Alaska right now and they asked me to take their picture. I have to say this is probably one of the best pictures I have ever seen of my mom, and it’s not because I took it (even though it’s not bad if I do say so myself). It’s because she’s really smiling! She’s not faking it! Love it! Anyways, I’m off to bed! See you all when I see you ;).

12 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. greysqrl
    Mar 23, 2011 @ 01:10:14

    Yes! I agree. I used to post 5 photos a week until the end of last year. This year I’m doing one a week and it feels much more enjoyable.

    Reply

  2. Photo By Holly
    Mar 23, 2011 @ 04:35:38

    Good for you! This SHOULD be something fun – deadlines always add stress, and that doesn’t make it fun anymore.

    Reply

  3. Robin
    Mar 23, 2011 @ 14:39:27

    Isn’t it amazing how much better life gets when you remove the pressure? 😀

    The last photo is wonderful. You’re very good at capturing people.

    Reply

  4. Emily Gooch
    Mar 23, 2011 @ 16:03:38

    Work is never fun when you have to stress and worry about it. Glad you found the right path for you. I like the last photo of your mom and her friend — nice of capture of their smiles. 🙂

    Reply

  5. amandapfeifer
    Mar 23, 2011 @ 21:40:47

    That’s how I know I don’t want to be a photographer. I want to be as good as the best, and work hard to keep improving all the time… but as soon as it’s work, it looses it’s “fun” for me.
    I’d much rather keep it a hobby and enjoy it!

    Reply

  6. David Williams
    Mar 24, 2011 @ 05:47:03

    I am glad you found a groove! Lately, my issue has been finding the time to comment, sorry I’ve been a little slacker in that department. 😛

    I love the natural lighting in the last image and Roman, great job on the art work!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

