Can We Keep Them Alive?

We had an event Monday morning. While I was sleeping (we switch mornings) and Sal was preoccupied Roman reached in a drawer and grabbed a carving knife.  When Sal came into the living room he noticed that Roman was kind of sulking all huddled up in the covers on the couch.  He asked him what happened and Roman told him he cut himself.  The cut was more like a paper cut or tiny scratch.  He had already put the knife back so it didn’t really set in yet.  While Sal was putting away the dishes V walked by with this wound you see above.  Only, at the time it hadn’t been superglued yet and was a little bloody.  I woke up to Sal frantically asking Roman what happened. He showed Sal the knife and said he cut V. 

Now you have the back story, I’ll tell you what was running through my head.  Roman stabbed the dog and V didn’t make a peep, how’s that for you pitbull haters?! Roman stabbed the dog!! OMG!  Oh, thank God he didn’t hurt himself worse! What if V would have reacted?! Is my child going to be a sociopath someday? Do I need to start worrying about Roman trying to kill me in his sleep later on? Is this normal?

At first I didn’t want to tell anyone, not a soul, but I had too. I asked a couple of people and they all assured me that it was normal for little rugrats to do weird things. OK if you say so…  I asked a psychologist today and he assured me it is okay. Roman is apparently learning the relationship between cause and effect. Still scary though! After talking to Roman the whole day about it and making both miserable, I finally thought everything is going to be okay.  He knew he had done something wrong, and had expressed remorse before I even talked to him about it. Still…Im not sure how much more I (or V) can take of this kid growing up :)!

On another note, I can’t keep a plant alive to save my life. It’s not because I don’t water them, it’s because I water them too much! Im afraid they will die of dehydration or something. My mom gave me this Jade plant and said I could drown it and it wont die. We will see about that….